Skip to content

Basic personal medications in crisis

April 6, 2013

Hi folks,

As you may have noticed, I’ve been ‘slacking’ for a couple weeks on the weekends, when I generally have time for my blog. Well, the past couple have been used up by helping out my grown kids in their homes with projects. And have to go outta town to do so.

Getting a dab of food poisoning at the end of last weekend’s visit just made things so wonderful this week (sarcasm!). It also gave me a topic to blog about this time.

Let’s suppose we’re all crammed together in survival mode of some kind and……someone gets the runs. Depending on the bug involved, could be just an unlucky family member has to suffer through it. Maybe they had some bad squirrel on a stick for dinner. Other cases will be like the flu, before you know it everybody has it!

How’s your prepper medicine cabinet doing? Well stocked for common stuff like a little food poisoning or the flu? No? Could be bad news during a crisis, if the situation grew bad enough with a little one or an infirm senior. My run with it (to the bathroom multiple times an hour!) used up my small supply of anti-diarrhea / anti-nausea product, Imodium. So, now back on my feet, I’ve restocked that item in a couple brand names, and added some extra printed online research to my paper files concerning ‘do it yourself’ medicine and health care. Part of the common sense strategy to keep this thing from spreading to everyone crammed together is to WASH YOUR HANDS every time at every episode and dry your hands with a PAPER TOWEL and throw it away! It will be misery enough for all, even if no one else comes down with it. Basic medicine information and articles on the naturalistic way of self treatment of minor disease are good to have in your ‘home doctor kit’ along with adequate information to help you feel confident that what you’re dealing with is or is not life threatening. I have a decent library of information for you along this line in my Urban Survival Store in the First Aid, Health & DIY Medicine  section, through Amazon, all in a nice group, covering a wide range of off grid health, herbs and self care. Browse through it some time.

So, go get your pencil and paper, sit down with your significant other, parent or whomever, and write down all your chronic conditions, and whatever miserable diseases, such as diarrhea and the flu, that you can think of which can be dealt with at home. Now, start a gradual build up in your survival ‘medicine cabinet’ of those items, add books and information to your survival library to get your through the worst of it. Along with the over the counter stuff to take for all these aliments should be a well stocked, family sized first aid cabinet and not one of those $9.95 Wally world 3 inch square little jokers either. Those have their place, maybe in your bug out bag, but we’re talking a ‘real’ situation kind of coping with first aid supply that can deal with pretty serious cuts and burns. Can you do stitches to a nasty, deep cut?  Might be might useful if somebody in the group had that skill, even better if a couple folks did.  This kit should also cover supplies for sprained ankles and wrists, sore muscles (you’ll probably be experiencing all kinds of new physical activities, like serious work!), finger splints and perhaps even arm and leg splints or at least immobilizers to make it to the hospital.

Anyway, more stuff to ponder and plan over, right? Seems it never ends, and you’re right if that’s what you’re thinking right about now. But, just take it easy, little bits at a time, a little planning, a little budgeting, before you know it, you’ll have a nice stash going.

Stay safe, keep your spirits up, keep on prepping, soon you’ll be better off than many, many others.

 

12 Comments
  1. I leave a response each time I especially enjoy a post on a blog or if I
    have something to add to the conversation. It’s triggered by the passion displayed in the article I browsed. And after this post Surviving Urban Crisis. I was actually excited enough to drop a commenta response 😛 I do have 2 questions for you if you usually do not mind. Is it just me or do some of these remarks appear like coming from brain dead visitors? 😛 And, if you are posting at other online social sites, I would like to follow you. Could you list all of all your shared sites like your twitter feed, Facebook page or linkedin profile?

    • The purpose of my blog is not popularity, although I do hope folks can spread the word to their friends and families. I appreciate the ‘positive’ comments and feedback from my readers, but since it’s a ‘free America’, for now, people can say what they please.
      As far as the other sites, there’s Twitter @SilasLongshot. I hang out on
      On facebook, just do a ‘search’ for Silas Longshot, takes you right to it.

  2. My brother recommended I might like this website.
    He used to be totally right. This post actually made my day.
    You cann’t believe simply how much time I had spent for this information! Thanks!

  3. Hello! This is my first visit to your blog!
    We are a collection of volunteers and starting a new project in a community in the same niche.

    Your blog provided us useful information to work on. You have
    done a wonderful job!

  4. Great site you have here.. It’s difficult to find high-quality writing like yours nowadays. I honestly appreciate individuals like you! Take care!!

  5. Way cool! Some extremely valid points! I appreciate you writing
    this article and also the rest of the site is really good.

  6. Very great post. I simply stumbled upon your blog and wished to mention that I have truly loved browsing your blog posts.

    In any case I will be subscribing for your rss feed and I am hoping
    you write once more very soon!

  7. Good day very nice site!! Guy .. Beautiful .. Superb .. I’ll bookmark your web site and take the feeds also? I’m glad to find so many useful information here in the submit,
    we’d like work out more strategies in this regard, thanks for sharing. . . . . .

  8. Hi there, I enjoy reading all of your article. I wanted to write a little comment to support you.

  9. You need to be a part of a contest for one of the highest
    quality sites on the internet. I’m going to recommend this blog!

  10. Hi my friend! I wish to say that this post is amazing, great written and include
    approximately all significant infos. I would like to peer more posts like this .

  11. I was extremely pleased to discover this web site.
    I want to to thank you for your time just for this wonderful read!!
    I definitely really liked every part of it and
    I have you book-marked to look at new stuff in your
    web site.

Leave a Reply

