Skip to content

To reload or not to reload

October 27, 2012

Hi, folks.

Among the many, many ‘hot topics’ of survivalist discussions is the topic of ammunition. Vital indeed, for surviving hordes of slavering zombies and to put some meat on the table occasionally. I would say the majority of survival aware people choose just to buy their ammo, in mass quantity, or a box of 50 or so at a time from Wal-Mart or which ever your handy local discount big box store may be. This does guarantee top quality stuff, at least as far as the reputable manufacturers of ammo can make it. Buying ‘cheap stuff’ for practice and ‘good stuff’ for the serious times is common, and a good practice to save a buck or two while staying proficient with your weapons. Proficiency with your gear is absolutely essential, because as the SHTF and things come crashing down, your life and your loved ones will depend on how good you are.

So, you’ve taken this advice to be good with your shootin’ iron to heart and now you go thru a box of ammo pretty regularly, right? You leave all those empty cases out in the field or at the shooting range? That’s an expensive waste of material, in the opinion of those who can reload their ammo. If you’re shooting ANY kind of common ammo, there are reloading components that will allow you to ‘rebuild’ that empty cartridge, like new, yourself. For pistols, your .40 cal or 9mm Glock, your .38 or .357 magnum and whatever else, nothing to it. For most rifle ammo, your .223, your .308, your 7.62 x 39 (AK 47 ammo for you newbies), if it’s brass casings, same for all that. Back in my ‘Cowboy Action Shooting‘ competition days, I reloaded several thousands of .38 & .357 magnum with very few failures. All you need is some space in a dry, climate controlled area, the equipment and supplies and the required reloading information books and you’re all set.

First you need the know how, there are many books and some videos out there that get you started, like this one The ABCs Of Reloading:

Let me throw a qualifier out here concerning the hobby of reloading. This is to be done when you are free of distraction. NO phones, NO TV, NO kids fussing. It is a simple, progressive procedure, no high tech skills or genius cognitive powers, but you are dealing with ‘explosives’ here, and missing a step or thinking you didn’t miss a step and for instance, doubling your powder charge because you had to holler ‘Stop that, Bobby!’ may have hazardous consequences! Like I mentioned above, during my competition days, I had failures because distractions had me failing to put ‘any’ gunpowder in some cases. Embarrassing, to have your gun go ‘putt’ and your bullet land about 3 feet away. Doubling your powder on the other hand can make a bad day. Slightly overloading will lead to ‘hot loads’ which will leave your primers (the bit that starts the firing reaction) flattened like the one on the left shown here. The overcharge pressures when the round fired caused the primer to bulge outwards. Taken to extreme, overcharging can shatter your gun. This is NOT to put you off of the idea to reload, just a heads up you’re dealing with serious stuff.

The next items for your reloading hobby will of course be the equipment you’ll need to get started. Lee manufacturing has a basic starter kit that has launched millions of hobbyists into their reloading venture. This kit has all you’ll need to get you going, other than the ‘dies’ for your particular caliber weapons. Once purchased, these dies should last for a million rounds re-manufactured in your corner of the basement. Lee Precision II Anniversary Challenger Kit

There are loads of suppliers in the sporting goods line on the web that can supply the reloading dies for whatever your weapon is. They are pretty much universal and most will readily interchange with brand names of the loading machinery. They can also supply you with all the components you’ll need….once fired brass or new brass, virtually any bullet type that fits your caliber and primers. You may have to buy your gunpowder from a local gun supply store because of shipping problems. Gun powders are heavily discussed and minutely detailed in your typical ‘cookbook’ for reloading ammo which typically discusses every conceivable combination of powder brand and bullet combination. These are the crucial instructions you MUST follow to the letter, such as in this one  Lyman 49Th Edition Reloading Handbook

As far as finding once fired brass to reload, maybe asking at your local shooting range if they would consider selling you a few pounds of ‘as is’ brass casings from sweeping up in their firing range. It is worth it to me to get it this way, even if I have to sort the brass by caliber, picking out brass for my stuff and saving the other empties to possibly barter with in the future

There is a distinct sense of satisfaction when you’re done with several hundred rounds of your ‘own brand’ and see them all neatly into their boxes sitting on your loading bench. It’s an “I built that” kind of feeling!

One last string of thought concerning our ammo supplies we need to accumulate for the ‘big one’. Consider if you will the idea of maximum versatility for every caliber bullet your weapons need. If you have multiple weapons that fire the same round, you build in a backup system, and only have to worry about accumulating ‘one’ type of ammo. Such as the ever popular .223. You have your AR brand, your Mini 14, you have a load of bolt action ‘hunting rifles’, all that share the ammo. Same for your AK-47 ammo, you have it and your SKS rifle, cheap but very serviceable, you have a Ruger 77 bolt action that uses the same ammo, the 7.62×39 cartridge. That series by Ruger also seems to come in every caliber bullet ever invented. In .357 magnum, you have us ‘old school revolver’ guys and the Winchester 94 lever action rifle using the same ammo, which with ‘hot loaded’ 180 grain slugs will take down deer. With some research, you’ll also find ammo sharing pistols and carbines in 9mm and .45 caliber.

Be safe and go bang!

EDIT 11/8/12

After posting this article, I’ve discovered a guy who’s posted some very useful video about the Lee 1000 progressive reloading machine (which I use). Check him out: (Yeah, crazy guy but useful info!) San Francisco Liberal With a Gun

48 Comments
  1. beautiful blog with nice informational content. this is a really interesting and informative post. good job! keep it up, hope to read your other updates. thanks for this nice sharing. lista de emails lista de emails lista de emails lista de emails lista de emails

  2. i think i will become a great follower. just want to say your article is striking. the clarity in your post is simply striking and i can take for granted you are an expert on this subject. lista de emails lista de emails lista de emails lista de emails lista de emails

  3. articles doesn’t necessarily need too much words to be good, and yours amazing. lista de emails lista de emails lista de emails lista de emails lista de emails

  4. Hi, always i used to check webpage posts here in the early hours in the
    dawn, as i like to gain knowledge of more and more.

  5. I do trust all of the concepts you have introduced for your post.
    They’re really convincing and will certainly work. Still, the posts are very short for novices. Could you please lengthen them a little from next time? Thank you for the post.

  6. Hello, i think that i saw you visited my web site so i
    came to “return the favor”.I’m trying to find things to improve my site!I suppose its ok to use some of your ideas!!

  7. I like reading an article that can make people think.
    Also, thank you for allowing for me to comment!

  8. I just want to tell you that I’m new to blogging and site-building and certainly liked you’re web-site. Most likely I’m want to bookmark your site . You surely have perfect article content. Kudos for revealing your web site.

  9. This site was… how do you say it? Relevant!! Finally I’ve found something that helped me. Cheers!

  10. My spouse and i were quite thankful that Edward managed to deal with his basic research from your precious recommendations he was given utilizing your blog. It’s not at all simplistic to just pick to be offering techniques which others could have been trying to sell. And now we do know we now have the blog owner to be grateful to because of that. Most with the explanations you’ve made, the straightforward website navigation, the friendships you assist to create – it is all astonishing, and it’s actually facilitating our son in addition to the family picture that that problem is pleasurable, and that’s incredibly mandatory. Thank you for all of the pieces!

  11. This blog has got lots of extremely useful stuff on it. Cheers for informing me!

  12. Amazing article, thank you, I will subscribe to you RSS now!

  13. I’m still learning from you, but I’m trying to reach my goals. I definitely liked reading everything that is written on your blog.Keep the information coming. I enjoyed it!

  14. This really answered my problem, thank you!

    • I’ve been browsing on-line more than three hours as of late, but I never found any fascinating article like yours.
      It’s beautiful value enough for me. In my view, if
      all webmasters and bloggers made excellent content material as you did,
      the web will probably be much more useful than ever before.

  15. Hello there! Somebody at my Myspace group shown this site here so that I came to take a look. I undoubtedly like your information. I am bookmarking and are tweeting this one to my followers! Remarkable blog and outstanding style and design.

    • Heya i’m for the first time here. I came across this board and I to find It really helpful & it
      helped me out a lot. I’m hoping to provide one thing back and aid others such as you helped me.

  16. Yeah bookmaking this wasn’t a speculative determination outstanding post!

  17. As soon as I found this website I went on reddit to share some of the love with them.

    • Thanks for one’s marvelous posting! I truly enjoyed reading it, you
      happen to be a great author.I will be sure to bookmark
      your blog and may come back in the future. I want to encourage
      one to continue your great posts, have a nice day!

  18. What i do not understood is in truth how you are no longer actually a lot more smartly-preferred than you might be right now.
    You’re very intelligent. You know thus considerably in relation to this topic, made me
    personally consider it from numerous various angles.

    Its like men and women don’t seem to be involved except it’s something
    to accomplish with Lady gaga! Your own stuffs excellent.
    At all times maintain it up!

  19. Way cool! Some very valid points! I appreciate you penning this post
    and the rest of the site is very good.

  20. My partner annd I absolutely lve your blog and find the majority of your post’s to bbe exactly what I’m looking for.
    can yoou offer guest writers to write content for you?
    I wouldn’t mind composing a post or elaborating on a few of
    the subjects you write related to here. Again, awesome web
    log!

  21. That is very fascinating, You’re an excessively skilled blogger.
    I’ve joined your feed and look forward to looking for more
    of your magnificent post. Also, I’ve shared your website in my social
    networks

  22. Greate pieces. Keep posting such kind of information on your site.
    Im really impressed by your blog.
    Hey there, You have performed a great job. I’ll definitely digg
    it and in my opinion recommend to my friends. I’m sure they
    will be benefited from this site.

  23. I do accept as true with all the ideas you’ve offered in your post.
    They are very convincing and can certainly work.
    Still, the posts are too short for starters. Could you please lengthen them a bit from next time?
    Thanks for the post.

  24. I have been surfing online more than 4 hours today, yet I never found any interesting
    article like yours. It’s pretty worth enough for me.
    In my opinion, if all webmasters and bloggers made
    good content as you did, the web will be much more useful than ever before.

  25. Excellent, what a website it is! This web site presents useful information to us, keep it up.

  26. Thank you, I have recently been searching for information approximately this topic for a long time and yours is the greatest I have came upon so far.
    However, what about the conclusion? Are you certain about the supply?

  27. Do you mind if I quote a few of your posts as long as I provide
    credit and sources back to your website? My blog site is in the exact same niche as yours
    and my users would genuinely benefit from a lot of the information you provide here.
    Please let me know if this alright with you.

    Thanks a lot!

  28. Hello, I read your new stuff regularly. Your story-telling style is witty, keep doing what
    you’re doing!

  29. I’m extremely impressed with your writing skills and also with the layout
    on your blog. Is this a paid theme or did you customize it yourself?

    Anyway keep up the nice quality writing, it
    is rare to see a great blog like this one nowadays.

  30. bookmarked!!, I like your blog!

  31. Wonderful, what a blog it is! This web site presents helpful facts to us, keep
    it up.

  32. Hi there, I enjoy reading all of your post. I wanted to write a little comment to
    support you.

  33. Hello there! Would you mind if I share your blog with my twitter group?
    There’s a lot of people that I think would really appreciate your content.

    Please let me know. Thank you

  34. I was able to find good information from your content.

  35. I was able to find good advice from your blog articles.

  36. Thanks a lot for sharing this with all of us you really know what you
    are speaking about! Bookmarked. Please also talk over with my web site
    =). We could have a link trade agreement among us

  37. Hi there! This post couldn’t be written any better! Reading through this post
    reminds me of my old room mate! He always kept talking about this.
    I will forward this write-up to him. Pretty sure he will have a good read.
    Thank you for sharing!

  38. I think this is among the most vital information for
    me. And i’m glad reading your article. But want
    to remark on some general things, The web site style is wonderful, the articles is really excellent : D.

    Good job, cheers

  39. Tremendouѕ things here. I’m very satisfied to look
    your post. Thanks a lot and I am taking a look aheaԀ to contact you.
    Will you kindly droƿ me a mail?

Leave a Reply

